A Lawyer Explains All You Need to Know About Driving While Revoked Missouri

Google 5 star Badge Ozarks min

In Missouri, a person commits an offense of driving with a revoked license if they are found operating a motor vehicle while their driving privilege is suspended or revoked.

A license suspension or revocation is usually enforced under criminal negligence laws of the state. As such, a person will be charged with criminal negligence if they drive with a revoked driver’s license or without a valid license.

A conviction for this offense can carry serious consequences, especially for a fourth or subsequent conviction. It is recommended that you seek the services of a qualified DUI attorney to help you minimize potential penalties.

Working with a skilled and experienced DUI Attorney in Ozark, MO, may improve the odds of getting a favorable outcome in your case. Contact us for a free consultation if your license privilege has been revoked.

For license reinstatements and hardship license/limited driving privilege services in Greene & Christian Counties, our fees are $1,000. Of this, $850 is the attorney fee and $150 covers expenses. 

How Can a Driver’s License be Revoked in Missouri?

There are several reasons why Missouri drivers may get their driver’s license suspended or revoked.

Common reasons that may result in getting your driver’s license revoked include:

  • Being found guilty of a new offense following a second or subsequent conviction

  • Being found guilty of making false statements on the application forms

  • Refusing to take a breathalyzer test

A person’s driver’s license may also be suspended if they are convicted of certain crimes unrelated to the present offense under Missouri law. For instance, one may have committed offenses under family law, such as refusal to pay child support.

A person may also get their license suspended or revoked for committing driving offenses for a third or subsequent time.

Having your license revoked means that your driving privilege is terminated, and you will not be allowed to drive a motor vehicle anywhere in the state.

How to Restore a Revoked License

When the Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) revokes your driver’s license, you might lose your driving privileges for life. Also, in some cases, after a revocation, you may have to retake the driver’s exam.

However, you can usually get your revoked license back by:

  1. Reapplying for a completely new license
  2. Paying overdue penalties and fines
  3. Requesting a hearing at the Missouri Department of Motor Vehicles.

You can also get your revoked license restored after the revocation or suspension period expires. There are certain steps you can take in case of revoked or suspended license, such as determining the reason why that occurred. That information is typically included in the letter you have received from the Missouri Driver License Bureau after you’ve faced a suspended or revoked license or can be found on your current Missouri driver record. You can use the chart to learn what documents you need, which forms must be filled out, and how much the reinstatement fee is. However, you may also have to fulfill conditions such as community service and education.

If you feel the suspension or revocation period for driving on a suspended or revoked license is too long, you may inquire about limited driving privileges.

Is Driving With a Revoked License a Felony in Missouri?

Driving with a revoked license is usually a felony charge in Missouri. The penalties may be severe if a person pleads guilty to a felony charge for driving with a revoked license.

However, it is essential to note that not every person commits a felony for driving with a revoked license. If you are found with a driver’s license that has been revoked, you can, in some circumstances, only be charged with a misdemeanor.


When Is Driving While Revoked a Felony in Missouri?

You may be charged with a Class E felony in the following circumstances:

  • It is your fourth or subsequent offense on your driving record, and your previous offenses occurred within a decade of the current offense
  • It is your third or subsequent conviction, and the two previous offenses occurred within ten years of the current offense. In addition, you have a previous alcohol-related charge or contact with law enforcement and served jail time of at least ten days or more for your previous offenses.

If you have had your license revoked, it is critical to contact a DUI Lawyer in Springfield, MO, with experience in such cases.

Ozarks DWI Law Clinic has a good understanding of Missouri law on license revocation and suspension. Contact us today as we have helped many clients from getting their driver’s license canceled, suspended, or revoked.

Penalty for Driving With a Revoked License in Missouri

In Missouri, driving with a revoked license is one of the most serious traffic offenses you can be charged with. This is especially so if you are arrested, and it is determined that the offense is a subsequent violation.

A first violation of the law usually results in a person being charged with a Class D misdemeanor. Such a charge usually results in fines no greater than $500. A person convicted of a second or third violation may be charged with Class A misdemeanor charges.

Below is a summary of potential penalties you may face:

  • If you have been found guilty of driving on a suspended or revoked license as a first offense, you will be charged with a misdemeanor. A conviction may result in fines of up to $300.
  • Second or subsequent violations may attract penalties of up to a year in jail and fines of up to $1000
  • For a fourth or subsequent conviction, or if you have previous drunk driving convictions, you will be charged with a Class E felony that may attract up to four years in jail time.

You may also have points docked from your driver’s license if you are found driving with a suspended or revoked license.

If you have 8 points within eighteen months, your license may be suspended for up to a month. However, if you have 12 points docked from your license within twelve months, you could have your license revoked for up to 12 months.

How Do You Get Around a Missouri Revoked License

No matter the circumstances you may be facing, working with a lawyer may result in a more favorable outcome. Working with an attorney with the reputation and skill of working on similar cases in Missouri may just give you a chance to save your driving privileges.

Contact the Ozarks DWI Law Clinic today to discuss your case. We have qualified attorneys ready to help you with legal advice and representation on any license issues services you have.