Understanding License Suspension and Revocation Reasons in Missouri
Why Your License May Be Revoked or Suspended in Missouri
For most Americans, driving is a daily activity. Therefore, having your license revoked or suspended can cause you difficulties. It is essential to abide by the law to avoid license suspensions and revocations.
Despite your best efforts, you may lose your driving privileges due to a revoked or suspended license. A suspended license can hamper mundane activities that we generally take for granted: the ability to drive yourself to medical appointments, to and from work, and to see friends.
In such situations, you may need assistance reinstating your license. Attorneys from Ozarks DWI Law Clinic can help you. In this article, we explore the reasons why your license may be revoked or suspended.
What Is the Difference Between License Suspension and Revocation?
The terms “revocation” and “suspension” may be used interchangeably in some states. However, in Missouri, the two terms have very different meanings.
In Missouri, a driver’s license revocation refers to the termination of driving privileges. It can result in losing driving privileges for a year or more.
A license suspension is a temporary loss of driving privileges. It may be possible to reinstate your license by complying with the terms set out by the Missouri Department of Revenue.
The reinstatement process can differ significantly based on the reason for a license suspension or revocation. You may be able to reinstate your license by:
Filing forms (such as the SR-22 Form)
Paying a reinstatement fee
Retaking the complete driver’s examination
Completing a substance awareness traffic offender program
Installation of an ignition interlock device in your vehicle
Obtaining an order of reinstatement from the requisite circuit court
Causes of Suspensions or Revocations
The state of Missouri has the authority to suspend or revoke your license for various reasons. These reasons may vary from DWI arrests to points on your license to failing to pay child support. Let’s delve into the different reasons for license revocation and suspension in Missouri.
The Points System
Drivers in Missouri accrue points on their licenses for each violation they receive under the state’s point system.
Under the points system:
- If you receive eight or more points within 18 months, your license is suspended for 30 days.
- A second suspension results in a 60-day license suspension.
- Third or subsequent suspensions result in a 90-day license suspension.
- Your license will be revoked for a year if you receive:
- 12 or more points in 12 months
- 18 or more points in 24 months
- 24 or more points in 36 months
Driving While Intoxicated (DWI)
The suspension or revocation period depends on the severity of the DUI or driving while intoxicated (DWI) offense. It also depends on whether it is a first or subsequent conviction for driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs.
Under the points system:
- After your first DWI conviction, eight points are added to your driving record, and your license is suspended for 90 days.
- A second conviction will result in twelve points regardless of the interval between convictions. It will also result in the revocation of your driver’s license for 5 years if this is the second offense in 5 years.
Your license will be suspended for ten years if you are guilty of a third DWI.
Driving With No Insurance
In Missouri, having minimum liability car insurance is mandatory for all drivers. Drivers must carry sufficient property damage and bodily injury insurance. If you are an uninsured or underinsured driver, you risk having your license suspended.
Your license remains suspended for your first infraction if you have insufficient or no insurance coverage. A second offense will likely see your license being suspended for up to 90 days. You may be punished with a one-year ban for third and subsequent violations.
Administrative License Suspension or Revocation
An administrative suspension or revocation will occur if your blood alcohol content (BAC) is 0.08% or greater. The seriousness of the infraction and whether it is a first or subsequent offense will determine your driver’s license suspension period.
An administrative suspension is also likely when a driver refuses to perform a breath/blood/urine test (also known as chemical tests).
Your Missouri driving record will reflect any convictions for traffic ticket citations issued while you were traveling outside of Missouri.
When you obtain a traffic citation outside of Missouri, the state regards it as if the traffic infraction occurred within the state lines. Points are accordingly added to your Missouri driving record for these out-of-state offenses.
Outstanding Traffic Citations and Fines
Specific deadlines are in place for the payment of traffic tickets. In certain situations, extensions are possible, but you must pay traffic tickets in full before the extension ends. Your driving license may be suspended in case of any delays associated with paying fines or citations.
Can I Drive During a License Suspension?
Driving with a revoked license in Missouri is against the Missouri DWI laws. The state removes your driving rights when your license is suspended or revoked. You cannot legally drive while the suspension or revocation is in effect.
If you are convicted of driving when your Missouri license is revoked, you could be guilty of a misdemeanor. A first offense under this law is penalized as a Class D misdemeanor.
Ozarks DWI Law Clinic Can Help With a License Suspension or Revocation
Have you had your Missouri driver’s license suspended? You are probably wondering what you can do about a suspended or revoked license. You may be considering a Missouri license reinstatement and have questions about it. Or maybe you require legal representation? If so, consider contacting Ozarks DWI Law Clinic.
Driver’s license suspensions and revocations can leave you feeling helpless. Our professional and experienced lawyers are ready to represent you and protect your rights under Missouri law. A consultation with them may ease your stress and give you a clear strategy for moving forward.
Suppose you’ve been charged with driving a motor vehicle while intoxicated in southwest Missouri. In that case, you can contact a skilled DWI Attorney in Ozark, MO. We work in Springfield, Ozark, Greene County, Christian County, and other areas surrounding Ozark. Contact us today!